Roonie Says: March 2019

Dog license applications are available online at the Chester County website here or on the Pennsylvania Dog license site.

All dogs three months or older must be licensed by Jan. 1 of each year. Violators can be cited with a maximum fine of $300 per violation, plus court costs. An annual license is $8.50 and a lifetime license is $51.50. If the animal is spayed or neutered, the annual fee is $6.50 and lifetime is $31.50.

Discounts are available for older adults and people with disabilities. The small license fee helps protect the millions of dogs in the state by funding the Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture Bureau of Dog Law Enforcement, which is responsible for ensuring the welfare of dogs, regulating dangerous dogs and overseeing annual licensing and rabies vaccinations.

In addition to being required by law, a license is the best way to get your dog back if your pup becomes lost. A license helps animal control and shelters identify your dog and get her back home safely.

Comments are closed.